Milwaukee  |  Waukesha  |  Madison  |  Racine  |  Kenosha  |  Lake Geneva  |  Appleton  |  Green Bay  |  Wausau  |  Rhinelander  |  Stevens Point  |  Sheboygan  |  West Bend
When accidents or injuries happen to you or someone you love...why choose anyone else®
Home > sheboygan car accident attorney > Insurance law goes into effect for WI drivers

Insurance law goes into effect for WI drivers

As of June 1, 2010, it is illegal not to have car insurance in Wisconsin.

A new state law affords motorists no more luxury in driving without adequate protection for their motor vehicles. A $500 fine waits for those found without insurance, while a $700 fine is brought against those found with false insurance cards. These punitive measures, law enforcement officials hope, will get drivers to buy car insurance and avoid the complete high price accidents can cost those involved. A $10 fine will be handed out if a driver is found without proof of insurance, although a provision stands that this can be waived if the driver later returns to provide proof of their policy to police.

Wisconsin drivers without insurance make up 15% of the driving population, a number that roughly matches the national average for states with insurance-required laws.

The state of New Hampshire remains the only state in the Union to not have an insurance law for its drivers. Virginia does not require insurance, but charges $500 on a yearly basis for drivers who opt out of car insurance. Both states, regardless of their laws, ask that drivers do obtain adequate insurance to deal with automotive costs.

If you or someone you love has been caught up in insurance claims for your vehicle, solid legal advice can help you today. Contact Habush Habush & Rottier S.C. ®, the Sheboygan car accident lawyers, by calling 800-242-2874.

Live Chat!

Archives

Categories

Blogroll

Admin