How Does the Statute of Limitations Work?
Every state sets a different time period for its statute of limitations, but each law works similarly. In civil cases like personal injury claims, a statute of limitations basically creates an expiration date by which a person must file a claim. If this date passes, the injured individual can no longer sue the person who caused the injury for financial compensation.
For more information concerning your legal options as an accident victim, contact the Sheboygan auto accident lawyers of Habush Habush & Rottier S.C. ®, at 800-242-2874 today.
The Statute of Limitations in Wisconsin
The state of Wisconsin sets its own time period for personal injury claims, although these time limits depend largely on the cause of the injury. According to the state standards, a civil suit tied to an assault and battery case in which the injury is intentional is treated differently than if the injury occurred because of negligence. The following are the various car accident-related limitations:
- If the cause was negligence, the limit is within 3 years of the date of injury
- If the cause was intentional harm, the limit is within 2 years of the date of injury
- If the cause was a defective product, the limit is within 3 years of the date of injury
These numbers may be further influenced by the discovery rule. According to the discovery rule, the time limit for a lawsuit does not begin until the injured individual has discovered his or her injury.
For some injured individuals, the statute of limitations can make an already complicated process all the more confusing. With the discovery rule and special rules regarding injured minors, the time limits may be significantly more flexible. To learn more about your options, contact the Sheboygan car accident attorneys of Habush Habush & Rottier S.C. ®, today by calling 800-242-2874.